La Maison Du Macarons – Chelsea


It’s just a lovely sight to see those colorful little things in the window. I mean, how can you resist them?! 😛

I really had to try a wide variety of flavors before I can decide whether the macarons were good or not. Afterall, it would not be fair to them to just try a one and write them off. So here are the 10 flavors I tried (from left to right in each picture):

Caramelized Pear / Walnut – This is actually a non-fruity one even though it has a fruit in the name. I realized that I like all the fruity ones, and hubby likes all the non-fruity ones. So not one that I would pick again.

Nougat Lavender – Floral with some crunch in it, this is my second favorite.

Praline – Another non-fruity, very nutty one. Tastes good, but again, not my choice.

Cassis – A very classic macaron flavor, sweet and tart at the same time, I like it. 🙂

Rose and Lychee Liquor – This sounded like something I would love, but I was a bit disappointed. Too flowery and fruity, even for me.

Cappuccino – Nothing special coffee taste.

Apricot Champagne – I was really excited to try this. It’s another name that sounded like something I’d love, but this was very disappointing. The champagne taste was a bit too strong, and completely masked the apricot taste. I like alcohol, but when it overpowers my dessert.

Apple Cider – This is my absolute favorite, I just hope that they will continue to have this flavor after the fall. The filling has this tart apple cider taste, it’s like really good apply sauce, with the crunch and chewy around it.

Pumpkin – I could barely taste the pumpkin, the flavor was somewhat generic.

Caramel Fleur De Sel – Salty caramel has proven to be an interesting dessert. It was exactly what I expected, and tasted better than I thought. Unfortunately I’m just not a caramel nor a salty dessert fan.

Overall, the maracons are great! They are fresh, with a great balance between chewy and crunchy. There are tons of variety that it would be hard to not find a flavor to like. The only cons, there is waaaaaay too much filling. I find myself squeezing the maracon and wiping off the excess filling. 🙄

Leave a comment